This is the "Home" page of the "Falen Fall 2014 Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Falen Fall 2014 Research Project  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2015 URL: http://olatheschools.v1.libguides.com/content.php?pid=640418 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Overview

You have MANY research topic choices for this project, so be sure to read the handout related to your specific choice.

Here are some GENERAL reminders of guidelines that apply to all papers.  All papers require:

-a thesis statement

- 5 sources- no encyclopedias for this project

- an outline

- a typed, double-spaced rough draft including: outline, title page, paper, and Works Cited page

- a final copy- typed, double-spaced, including a: title page, paper, and Works Cited

 

Database Search Tips

Use simple search terms, not complete sentences-

Good: Jimmy Carter

Bad: What kind of president was Jimmy Carter?

Limit your results-

You can usually narrow down your results by limiting to a certain type of source like a reference article, a newspaper article, and political cartoon, etc.

Email useful sources to yourself!

Trust Ms. McNerney, it's likely you will be glad you did this later when you have to do citations or you need to double-check your notes!  It's nice to have your sources via email instead of having to do the whole search agian.

 

Research

There are many library database resources which can help you in your information quest.  They can all be accessed from the library website:

http://oehslibrary.weebly.com/databases.html

There are several that may be especially helpful to you for this project:

Biographical Info:

Biography In Context-  great information if you are focusing on a specific person

General Research Databases: info on many different topics, biographical and events from history

Gale Virtual Reference Library- digital copies of thousands of articles from thousands of books

Student Research Center- digital copies of thousands of articles from books, magazines, and newspapers

History Databases: these focus on articles that are more related to historical people and events.

US History:

   U.S. History in Context

   U.S. Government- has lots of primary source government documents if you are researching a law or government act

   American Government, American History, United States Geography-- all three of these databases are available when you

   select the ABC Clio publisher link, these are considered online books because they have never been published in print.  

   They also have a separate section on your MLA handout for doing citations.

World History: some of you may have topics related to world events, in which case these databases may help:

   World History in Context

   World History: The Modern Era- another database from the ABC-Clio publisher

 

Need Help?

Believe it or not Ms. McNerney actually likes helping students with their research.  See her if you are having trouble!

Library Hours: 7.30-3.30 Mon-Fri

Seminar on Thursdays is another great time to get help-- just pick up a pass to before school Thursday morning so your seminar teacher can send you to the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip